Miscellaneous

Rock the Bells is the Shit but here is a Survival Kit – Plus 12 Lessons for Music Festivals

Alright guys I’m a huge fan of hip hop, I love it. I love music in general and have easily seen over 100 concerts, but I have never been to a Music Festival like Rock the Bells. I need to say this very clearly this wasn’t a rave, this was a Music Festival where everyone was there to see the artists, I seen 1 fight over the course of 2 days with over 17,000 there the first day alone. People were there for the music and no other reason. The people were awesome and courteous.

No one was really a douche bag (except Deebo from Friday who is a HUGE Douche). Fuck that crooked eye mother fucker. If you are reading this fuck you.

It is a pretty rough time if you aren’t prepared especially since I went to the one in San Bernardino where the temperature was 100 degrees. People were literally feinting in line, it was crazy. If you aren’t prepared for the day you can easily over do it and forget that this shit goes on for 12 damn hrs.

I like to dance, I like to go HARD when it comes to music. My already shitty knees were beat and my right knee was swollen after 4-5 hrs(still swollen today), but I’m the type to keep going hard so I kept on. As soon as a felt a beat I moved my body from my head to my feet. Like I said I love music, I figured I can either focus on my pain or just enjoy what has been far and away the coolest concert I’ve attended.

There was some lessons I learned from my buddies and myself when it comes to going to a festival like this, things that you guys should learn and definitely use in the future.

Lesson 1: Hydration is an obligation. We were all psyched and excited to be going to the show. All of us jumping around in line bull shitting and then all of a sudden this girl feints, she was super dehydrated, feinted twice. Last thing you want is to spend 200 bones on mere general admission ticket and be to sick to enjoy. Start you day with a few glasses of water.

Lesson 2: Not eating is financially defeating. Food is damn expensive at these festivals, I spent easily 30 bucks on grub the first day. It’s very important you remember to start your day with a good size meal. Go High in carbs but make sure it isn’t food that is going to go through you, I can’t imagine shitting at a festival like that.

Lesson 3: Too much drinking makes for an early evening. Don’t get fucking smashed before the show. Remember you are looking at 12 hrs of concerts with erratic eating and movement. You know how shitty it is when you wanted to really really really see Ice Cube, Redman and Method Man, KRS ONE, Bone Thugs, etc. and you have no clue you either watched them or was just incapable of getting over to watch the show? Yeah it’s cool have a few beers throughout the show but realize this you are looking at expensive drinks ($9) and sobering up mid dayor getting hung over in this case in very hot weather which sucks in bad way. Becoming hung over in 100 degree weather is no joke, you are already dehydrated.

Lesson 4: Don’t let your feet get beat. Think about it this way you are going to be standing, walking, or dancing for the better part of 12 hrs, plus getting there and leaving there. It’s a lot of time to spend on your feet and on top of that a lot of other people can end up trampling your feet when the smokey “intoxicants” consume the area. Make sure to sport close toed very COMFORTABLE shoes, fuck looking “cool” from your kicks stand point, be comfortable.

Lesson 5: Dress right not Tight. Don’t dress in your slickest clothes, dress in your most comfortable clothes. If it’s hot make sure you are wearing shorts and t-shirts (if it’s cold dress in warmer clothing). Lots of the women sported bikini tops and guys sported tank tops. Makes sure to apply sunscreen. I also like bright shirts for when I get separated from the group. On one of the days I wore my bright purple Sugarhill shirt you see in my videos, my friends spotted me with ease in the crowd.

Lesson 6: Easy Security is Key. Choose the line you jump in based off of the security in it and you can have an easy day. You want the line with the easy security guys, for whatever reasons from speed of line to what they let in. Some will allow more waters, food, and “what nots”. Some won’t check you as thoroughly which can be very important as well. I brought 9 waters in and he just said that’s what I like to see, we were only allowed one according to the info.

Lesson 7: Your thoughts on the weather subtract or add to your pleasure. You really have a choice as soon as this thing starts. Are you here to have a bad ass time and enjoy all the bitchen artists? Or are you really here to bitch and complain, judge it for a horrible time. Yes there can be improvements but remember how you feel about the weather or the moment defines how good a time you are having. People were all bitching about the weather and that made the time so horrible for them. I was just so fucking excited that I was like fuck the weather, you know who is playing quickly here?  This should be your mindset for maximum fun.

Lesson 8: Going for distance not an instance. Some really sic groups played early in the day and I just went hard because I was so excited I was tearing it up. This goes back to the length of the day ahead of you. This is a marathon not a sprint guys, you will be going for a minute so keep this in mind when you are going hard early, that or get ready to have a long ass night.

Lesson 9: Know what you can handle or you’ll be a burnt out candle. Some things are going to be done at a festival, intoxicants are going to be a part of it all just be aware of what you can handle. Last thing you need is to be too fucked up (marijuana was the Lobotomy of the show at some moments) to be around the other 16999 people around.

Lesson 10: Fuck it! Regardless of how well you prepare you will be tired. You will like every marathon runner does face a wall where it feels impossible to go beyond, get down, move past it just remember you’ll never experience anything like this again so be prepared to work past your exhaustion, dehydration, sore feet, legs, etc. So remember when that pain sparks up, Fuck It, go hard and pull yourself out of it.

Lesson 11: Get home, rest the dome. After a big festival like this you may think the concept of partying is sic. Hell there are artists around town partying, maybe I’ll meet them. Well I stayed in the same hotel as a lot of the artists, met a few there (The Grouch, Eligh, Travis Barker, and Yelawolf), but when I got home I knew better. I just licked my wounds, showered rested, and prepped for the next day, it is a long show, it’s very important you are able to physically deal with it.

Lesson 12: Be a boyscout, be fucking prepared. You guys need to look up the weather, set list, figure out your schedule, and the map early on. Know where to go, know where you can go, and all that. Know what you can and can’t bring into the show (back packs, waters, etc.). This includes getting there early to map out the area. Don’t show up when the specific show you want starts, figure it out early on so you don’t need to trip on missing it, it only takes like about 25 minutes to map out it out but it is worth it plus as we discovered they had misting stations and a sprinkler station to wet (cool) people (unfortunately after a few hrs). Be prepared also means knowing the concert ticket you buy. I overheard a girl disappointed because she bought a one day concert ticket instead of a two day make sure you buy the right ticket.

Music Festival Kit:

Back Pack– If there is a few of you guys hand off the back pack to each other but it is very nice to have a back pack you can stick souvenirs in and carry this stuff into the festival with.

Baby Powder – You guys may think it’s funny but baby powder the fuck up especially in a hot area. You can get very raw between your thighs after sweating that much through out the day. Grab some baby powder or body powder (better after you are already hurting). You can do it through out the day if you sweat excessively. I learned this from working construction. My buddies learned from a rough rash.

Bottled Water – Bottled water is very key in this environment, they were charging 3 bucks a bottle in there and you can buy a case for 3 bucks. Go buy a case of water and throw some waters in your bag. If you buy 10 waters through out the weekend that is a t-shirt or two depending on where you are buying them.

Bring a Towel – You will sweat and you will sweat for hrs. Bring a small towel, a handkerchief can be nice but you will be sweating way too long for it to be a good idea. Bring a midsize towel, not the littlest one or the biggest one but one that is like 24 inches or so, this will absorb a bit of sweat, plus you can always wet the towel and just lay it over your neck to keep you cool. Two towels can be better if you’d like.

Power Bars/ Granola Bars – These are a nice hold you over snack and tend to cover you until there is a break between shows you want to watch ( a lot of them come sequentially, you miss half of one to watch half of the other).

Don’t Forget the Paperwork – Make sure you have all of the following papers

Sandals – Sandals are key to have if you have a nice break between sets to let you air out your feet. Optional

Burner Kit – If you are a smoker or like to indulge during such fun events be sure to carry a kit of the regular: papers, lighter, matches (originally they said no lighters). Also be prepared to go through a lot more intoxicants than you thought. Edibles are almost always available. Nobody seemed to care at the excessive smoke. The focus seemed to be more on avoiding violence then marijuana, I seen literally 1000s of people smoke and I didn’t see one get in trouble for it. Be fearless and just do it, you don’t need to be sneaky smoking in a crowd full of smokers, nobody gives a fuck, we all expected it. OPTIONAL

Listerine/Toothbrush – This really is another option but if you are a teeth freak it can be solid to bring some breath freshening stuff to the concert especially if you were planning on chatting up a few beautiful women. Optional

Gum/Mints – I love having this when I just go out but I recommend having gum for when your mouth gets dry or when you want to chat up some honeys. I like the energy gums with the extra b vitamins to help maintain a good energy and avoid a dry mouth.

Condoms – If you are planning on hooking up with chicks don’t be a fool wrap your tool. I wasn’t there too pick up chicks so I didn’t care much but if you want be out banging make sure that you protect yourself at all times.

Deodorant – If you are a sweaty guy you likely end up a smelly guy, if you include deodorant inside your bag for when you begin to smell ripe you can feel more confident and just have more fun. I didn’t pack some but I could smell a few guys who should have. Optional

Sunglasses – Shades are essential. Lots of sun plus not sunglasses equals a shitty day. Lots of times they give away sunglasses (I was given 3 and bought a 4th for 5 bucks) or sell them cheap at concerts but if you have a favorite pair bring ’em. Comfort is very key when it comes to sunglasses, you will be wearing them for at least 10 hrs.

Sunscreen – I am not at all big on sunscreen but it can be very important when you are in the sun for this long. Throw some in your bag to protect yourself if you are fair skinned enough to need it. I went without but I also still got sunburned. It’s nice being swarthy only about a 24 hour burn.

Lotion – Lotion can also be key if you are in such dry weather. I again didn’t use it but it can certainly be helpful if you are someone with dry skin. Optional but highly recommended

Chapstick – Very essential you will hopefully be yelling and excited having a good time.Your lips can get very chap, I recommend finding a good Chapstick, Neosporin’s lip balm is the best I’ve found (a little more expensive but worth the price).

Camera – Optional but recommended, if you want memories and pics take them. I’m not big on pics so I only took one but it certainly could be awesome to have a ton of pics.

This is it guys this is all you need to have a fucking great time at a music festival if you do it right and prepare properly you can go hard almost the whole show having a good time. My boy and I went hard, my neck was sore from bobbing my head so much. You just need to bring the right shit eat a few times and drink a shit load of water while being careful not to over do it in other areas.

Peace and Love

Vic

About Science of Natural Game

I understand what it’s like to be that guy who struggles with women. I was god awful with women, I not once but twice went multiple years without sex, and I promise it wasn’t by choice. Ignorance played a large role in my issues with women, if I would have known now back in the days my dating life would have never slouched. I got desperate for affection with women, I wished I could have more. I read those pick up manuals, I read books by scientists on courtship. I went out and experienced what worked for me, and what “worked for others”. I found a process that makes every man skilled with women. I realized something else, yeah some of this stuff might work for some guys but we are all a little different and that’s a good thing… what I say may not be what you say, but there is a simple science and process to getting good with women and if you follow this process you will indeed be happy with your abilities with women. The most important thing for me is for you to be you, I don’t want to change who you are, I want you to love who you are, I want you to understand who you are, and I want you to be happy about all of it. I won’t ask you to dress up in peacocking outfit, I’ll ask you to be the most attractive guy by giving you skills and assets. Being you will be the peacock, will get you the attention of beautiful women. Most guys will simply tell you what to say and that will get you laid… but what happens when I am not here to tell you what to say? When what I have to say feels bland and not quite you? I don’t want you to be anyone else but you, the best you and the Man you want to be. I won’t tell you what to say, I’ll teach you to have a conversation. I won’t lie to you, I’ll tell you how it is and give you the facts. I won’t say it to be mean, I will say it for you to grow and become your best you with women and for you. I want you to be honest, knowledgeable, and sexy, and you will be when I’m done with you. Knowledge is power, and honesty is sexy…. I am not asking you to be anyone else, after all everyone else is already taken. If you need help or support with anything I am here, because I care about you. I want you to be a great, I want you to be all you can be. I want you to be your best self and that means I am here to support you in all your endeavors in life, not just with women but living the life you want… if you want to travel let’s figure out how, if you want to dance let’s teach you, if it’s weight loss let’s figure it out, if you want to surf let’s get you on a board, let’s give you the life you want and dream about, to let you be the you dream of being. I feel there is a process to getting women and more importantly getting good with women, it’s a science and if you follow the process it will work for you. Science isn’t about what’s true, as the truth is merely a perception science is the process we conclude will give us results… that’s what I give guys – results, the ability to get the women that will make them happy and help them live the life they love. Peace and Love, Vic

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Science of Natural Games new website!

Check out the New Science of Natural Game!

Wow! Recently updated with more information and organization!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,445 other followers

Follow Me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

